Rice University logo
 
 
 

FACULTY SENATORS 2012-2013

SENATE
SEAT
 

TERM EXPIRES 

NAME 

HOME
DEPT.
 


Dept. 
Liaison or
Leadership Position
 

EMAIL
ADDRESS 

PHONE 

                             


Wiess School of Natural Sciences
 

Seat A 2014 David
Alexander
Physics & Astronomy Physics & Astronomy dalex@rice.edu  3633
 
Seat B 
2014 Kate
Beckingham
BCB  BCB kate@rice.edu  4016

 Seat C

2013
Danijela
Damjanovic
MATH  MATH dani@rice.edu  4921
Seat D 2014 Michael
Kohn
EEB  Executive Committee. EEB hmkohn@rice.edu  3779

Seat 


2014
 

Anatoly
Kolomeisky

CHEM  

CHEM, Earth
Science

tolya@rice.edu 

5672   

Seat F 

2013 

Michael
Stern

 BCB  

BCB

stern@rice.edu  

5351  

  


George R. Brown School of Engineering
 

 
Seat A
2013 Rob
Raphael
BIOE BIOE, CHBE  rraphael@rice.edu    3494

Seat B  

2015  

Jane
Grande-Allen
 

BIOE

Deputy
Speaker
, BIOE

 

grande@rice.edu 

3704 

Seat C  

2015

Keith
Cooper  
COMPSCI


COMPSCI, CEVE

keith@rice.edu  

6013   

 
Seat D
2014 David
Scott
STAT, ECE  STAT, ECE scottdw@rice.edu  6037

Seat E  

2013 

 Moshe
Vardi
 

COMPSCI 

Convener,
Exec Comm, COMPSCI, CAAM, MEMS  

vardi@rice.edu  

5977  

  


School of Humanities
 

Seat A 

2014

Carl
Caldwell


History  


Speaker
, History, Philosophy, Kinesiology

caldwell@rice.edu  

2546

Seat B 

2014

Rebecca
Goetz

History

History, Reli Studies,

Exec Comm

rgoetz@rice.edu 

2548

Seat C  

2015  

Betty
Joseph
 

English  

English, French
Studies

beejay@rice.edu  

2774  

Seat D  

  2014   

Helena
Michie

English


English

michie@rice.edu   

2823

 Seat E
2013 Christian
Emden
German
Studies
German, Classical,  Hispanic Studies emden@rice.edu   5312
  Seat F
2013 Shirine
Hamadeh
Art
History
HART, VADA, Linguistics shirine@rice.edu  3796

                       


School of Social Sciences
 

Seat A  

2013 

Mahmoud
El-Gamal

ECON


ECON

elgamal@rice.edu 

6301   


Seat B
2014
Fred
Oswald
PSY  Psychology, Anthropology, Exec Comm foswald@rice.edu  3908

Seat C 

2015  

Rachel
Kimbro

SOC  


SOC

rtkimbro@rice.edu  

4265 

 
Seat D
2013 Lanny
Martin
POLI SCI POLI SCI lmartin@rice.edu    2109

  


Shepherd School of Music
 

Rotating Seat 2013 Gregory
Barnett
 MUSIC
MUSIC, Executive Committee
gbarnett@rice.edu  2174

Seat A 

2015  

Robert
Atherholt

MUSIC 

MUSIC

oboerob@rice.edu  

3234  

  


School of Architecture
 

Seat A 

2015 

Christopher
Hight

ARCH  


ARCH

chight@rice.edu  

4715  

  


Jones Graduate School of Business
 

 Seat A
2015 Brian
Rountree
Spring 2013:
Randy Batsell
MGMT  MGMT rountree@rice.edu
batsell@rice.edu
5328
5390
 Seat B
2014 James
Weston
MGMT   MGMT, Parliamentarian, Exec Comm westonj@rice.edu   4480

  


Non-Tenure-Track Faculty
 

Seat A:  Teaching 2015
Jonathan
Ludwig
CSL CSL, NTT jzludwig@rice.edu  3469
Seat B:  Teaching 2015 Scott
Cutler
CompSci,
ECE
CompSci, ECE, NTT cutler@rice.edu  2526

Seat C: Teaching 

2014  

David
Caprette
 

BCB  

Executive Committee, BCB, NTT

caprette@rice.edu  

3498 

Seat D: Research 

2014  

Stanislav
Sazykin
 

Physics & Astronomy    

Physics & Astronomy, NTT

sazykin@rice.edu  

3628  

  

 
Presidential Appointees
 

Seat A 

2014  

Ruth Lopez
Turley 

 SOC 


 SOC 

turley@rice.edu   

5713

Seat B 

 2013 

Illya
 Hicks
 

CAAM


CAAM

ivhicks@rice.edu 

5667

  


Ex Officio Members
 

President 

 

David
Leebron
 

 

 

president@rice.edu 

5050 

Provost 

 

George
McLendon
 

 

 

provost@rice.edu 

4026